Reviews and Suggestions

I Have Always Been Here Before: The Roky Erickson Anthology

32556_roky_72 A while back I wrote about the pending release of an anthology of Roky Ericson’s stuff by Shout! Factory called “I Have Always Been Here Before: The Roky Erickson Anthology.” Well it will be in the stores March 1st, 2005 and to get you in the mood I have a few song samples that you can listen to in either Quicktime or Windows Media formats:

“She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own)” – 13th Floor Elevators
Windows Media

“Bermuda” – Roky Erickson
Windows Media

“If You Have Ghosts” – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
Windows Media

Here is the full tracklisting:


Disc One:

1. We Sell Soul – The Spades
2. You’re Gonna Miss Me – 13th Floor Elevators
3. Reverberation (Doubt) – 13th Floor Elevators
4. Tried To Hide – 13th Floor Elevators
5. Fire Engine – 13th Floor Elevators
6. She Lives (In A Time Of Her Own) – 13th Floor Elevators
7. Slip Inside This House – 13th Floor Elevators
8. Splash 1 – 13th Floor Elevators
9. Dust – 13th Floor Elevators
10. I Had To Tell You – 13th Floor Elevators
11. POSTures (Leave Your Body Behind) – 13th Floor Elevators
12. Earthquake – 13th Floor Elevators
13. Right Track Now – Roky Erickson & Clementine Hall
14. Red Temple Prayer (Two Headed Dog) – Roky Erickson & Bleib Alien
15. Starry Eyes – Roky Erickson & Bleib Alien
16. Bermuda – Roky Erickson
17. The Interpreter – Roky Erickson
18. Mine Mine Mind – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
19. I Have Always Been Here Before – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
20. Click Your Fingers Applauding The Play – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
21. I Think Of Demons – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
22. Don’t Shake Me Lucifer – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
23. White Faces – Roky Erickson & The Aliens

Disc Two:

1. it’s a Cold Night For Alligators – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
2. Creature With The Atom Brain – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
3. Stand For The Fire Demon – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
4. Bloody Hammer – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
5. The Wind And More – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
6. If You Have Ghosts – Roky Erickson & The Aliens
7. Song To Abe Lincoln (Live) – Roky Erickson & Bleib Alien
8. Anthem (i pROMISE) – Roky Erickson
9. Warning (Social/Political Injustices) (Live) – Roky Erickson
10. The Beast – Roky Erickson & Evil Hook Wildlife E.T.
11. You Don’t Love Me Yet – Roky Erickson
12. Clear Night For Love – Roky Erickson
13. Don’t Slander Me – Roky Erickson
14. Nothing In Return – Roky Erickson
15. Burn In The Flames – Roky Erickson
16. When You Get Delighted – Roky Erickson
17. True Love Casts Out All Evil – Roky Erickson
18. For You (I’d Do Anything) – Roky Erickson
19. Please Judge – Roky Erickson
20. We Are Never Talking – Roky Erickson
21. I’M GONNA FREE HER – Roky Erickson

Always one of my favourite rock and roll eccentrics, Roky has put out some amazing rock and roll and this anthology has certainly been on my list as a “must have.” If you have never heard of or listened to Roky Ericson’s work in the past then you are in for a treat as the psychedelic rock and roll visions of Roky Ericson are the stuff of demented rock and roll dreams. I look forward in anticipation to March 1st!