Rebecca’s Picks: Albums You Should Own: Van Halen I

Van Halen Van Halen I
Track List
1. Runnin’ With The Devil
2. Eruption
3. You Really Got Me (Ray Davies)
4. Ain’t Talkin’ Bout Love
5. I’m The One
6. Jamie’s Cryin’
7. Atomic Punk
8. Feel Your Love Tonight
9. Little Dreamer
10. Ice Cream Man (John Brim)
11. On Fire
All songs written by Van Halen except where noted
Released February 1978 on Warner Brothers Records
Produced by Ted Templeman
Band Members: Edward Van Halen-guitars, Alex Van Halen-drums, Michael Anthony-bass, David Lee Roth-lead vocals

When I started this project, I sent emails to all the musicians I know, (and quite a few that I don’t) and asked them to name the albums that had influenced them the most. This album was mentioned more than any other. A lot more.
I was 13 when this album came out, and it changed my life. I thought “Eruption” was the coolest thing I had ever heard. I still do. Van Halen was a huge factor in determining the kind of music I listen to. I still listen to this album, and it sounds as good to me today as it did almost thirty (yikes!) years ago. My friend Robin and I listened to it over and over on her little portable turntable. Her mom thought we were crazy. We were.
Van Halen is reunited, with Wolfgang Van Halen replacing Michael Anthony on bass. You should go see them. At the very least, buy this album. Especially if you are a guitarist. Let Edward Van Halen show you how it’s done.

By Rebecca

1 Comment

  1. HI there I was wondering if you could tell me what van halen album up for breakfast appears on as there is another sone that they made and I can’t remember the name of it

Comments are closed.