Rock Radio 2.0

The Drastic Plastic Program Playlist for December 18, 2006

Doug Ford spun another cool show on the Drastic Plastic Program last Monday so for all of you that listened in, here is the playlist. For those of you who didn’t get a chance head to the CKUT FM archives immediately!

The opening volley begins with the classic pouty snarl of the Stiv Bators and the Deadboys, then off to New Zealand with the D4 and an adrenale landing in Detroit for a dose of Patti and Fred ‘Sonic’ Smiths’ son Jackson and his band Back in Spades.
Guitars are Go! for the second set with a trio of independent releases featuring Switzerland’s Black Sonic Prophets, Detroit’s My Machine, and Dublin Ireland’s Slow Motion Getaway.
The third set kicks off with easy groovin’ from Catfish Haven, followed by the extraordinary talent of Ireland’s Donal Norton who plays everything but the drums in this jazzy number by The Bare Bones Collective. The set ends with a charming rawker by  Dirty and the Derelicts. Spun around a loving Tom Waits sound, the Derelicts make their home in Vancouver B.C.
The final set digs into my affection for some good twang-core. The Blind Robins from Chicago with a genuine nitty-gritty sound, followed by Alabama’s The Dexateens from their splendid album Hardwire Healing. We finished up with a good rock’n tune (and somewhat of a  surprise ‘find’)  from Vancouver’s Desert Radio. Enjoy!

Band                                                         Album                                                 Song

the Dead Boys                        – Young Loud and Snotty                                     – I need lunch

the D4                                       – 6twenty                                                               – Heartbreaker

Back in Spades                      – The time is now                                                  – Baby Gettin’ Higher

Black Sonic Prophets             – independent release (2006)                            – Shut down the lights

My Machine                              – independent release (2006)                            – Mix it Up

Slow Motion Getaway             – independent release (2006)                            – What Exactly is Going On?

Catfish Haven                          – Tell Me                                                                – Crazy for Leaving

The Bare Bones Collective     – independent release (2006)                            – I Am Ready

Dirty and the Derelicts             – The Usual Way                                                  – Uke Ukerson’s Guitar

The Blind Robins                      – Panorama Valley                                              – Famous Non-Believers

The Dexateens                         – Hardwire Healing                                              – Naked Ground

The Desert Radio                     – Asleep at the Wheel                                         – February Day