With today’s music industry in a state of flux, independent artists have discovered that they can succeed without major label support, but still require strong marketing and promotion to reach new audiences. Many indies look to The Independent Music Awards ( an international program that helps indie artists achieve wider recognition among industry and fans, to help them achieve their goals.

Now in its sixth year, the IMAs deliver unique opportunities for indie artists and releases. Produced by The Musician’s Atlas, a division of Music Resource Group, and co-sponsored by mega retailer Borders Books & Music, IMA Winners are promoted to more than 9 million music fans, radio programmers, talent buyers, journalists and other industry decision makers using direct marketing, promotions, print, broadcast and online initiatives.

Says Martin Folkman, Director of the IMAs and Publisher of The Musician’s Atlas: “The only thing that separates these fine indie artists from multi-platinum success is access to major market promotion outlets and a broader definition of what is commercial. Our goal is to raise the profile of deserving artists who typically fly under the radar because of the lack of communication and marketing channels available to them. Past winners and finalists credit the program with boosting their visibility among festival bookers, talent buyers, distributors, industry insiders and fans. ”

Adding to an already broad spectrum of album and song categories spanning all genres from heavy metal to gospel, the sixth annual IMA program features a new category that is both unique and timely. “Sing Out For Social Action” was created explicitly to offer artists from every end of the political spectrum an opportunity to promote social change.

IMA winners are determined by a panel of influential recording artists and industry executives. This year’s artist panel includes Wynonna, Ozzy Osbourne, Cyndi Lauper, Buddy Guy, Fat Boy Slim, Suzanne Vega, Afrika Bambaataa, Paul Oakenfold, Marc Ribot, Beenie Man, Howard Tate, David Grisman, Patty Loveless, Rob Wasserman and Bebel Gilberto.

Ten thousand copies of the IMA Winners Compilation CD will be distributed to music fans and industry movers and shakers at international music conferences, festivals and other events throughout the year, and promoted to US and Canadian college and public radio stations throughout North America by The Planetary Group, a leading radio promotion company. The IMA online jukebox features winner’s songs and contact information and will be promoted to over 9 million Borders customers in 12 consecutive weekly “Shortlist” eNewsletters. The artist’s own releases will be available for purchase at the site.

The deadline for submission for the 2006 Independent Music Awards is midnight, Friday, August 25, 2006.

Entry forms, program details and announcements of additional judges are available at and